You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people believe that the only purpose of films is entertainment. Others say films have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experiences. Write at least 250 words.

Films are made in different genres today. The genres could be comedy, sci-fi, romance, action, thriller, adventure and so on. They act as a major source of entertainment since it has a very large group of audience. However, it also has a certain amount of educational value depending upon the genre of the film. Firstly, films are made in different languages in different countries. The story line varies from one to another. Depending upon its content, people watch it for entertainment purpose. It keeps them engaged for 2 or 3 hours. There are a lot of things one could pickup by watching films. For example, foreign languages, music and dance. These also acts as values. In addition to it, films based on true incidents, documentaries, auto biography and science imbibes a lot of educational values to the viewers. There are education specific films that are made for different age groups to help in academics since concepts get clearer when seen visually. In my opinion, watching films are advantageous anyways. I agree upon both the views that it definitely is a good source of entertainment and also gives educational values. I recently watched a movie named "Interstellar". It was a fictional film where I could easily understand a lot of physics concepts such as gravity, space and binary which added to my educational values and the other parts of the film showed the relationship between a father and his children which added to my emotional values. All in all this film kept me entertained for 3 hours and i got to learn a lot of things. Hence both the views are acceptable and it depends on the audience how much pleased they feel with the film and give their opinion.