Some people believe that the government should financially support retired people. Others feel that those who have retired should pay to support themselves.

Although certain demographics of society believe that there is a need for monetary assistance to the elderly community from the governments, others think they should be able to pay for their expenses. I, certainly, support the former statement. This essay will discuss both views alongside my opinion. To begin with, retirement not only marks the end of job tenure, but also emoluments. There are a number of explanations that held countries responsible to financially assist their greying society. First of all, taxes are levied on the working class individuals for the smooth functioning of the nation’s economy, and in return, countries are liable to help them in their sunsetting years. Apart from this, impending heath concerns rise with age and there is a sense of security required. If nations are charging a percentage of amount on individual’s income, then they are morally as well as ethically obliged to assist the aged community like free accessibility of medical insurances, setting up nursing homes, and providing food stamps to name but a few. Nevertheless, there is no doubt that the vast majority of people save enough money to spend after retiring. Besides this, funds like provident funds and gratuity are also released at the end of employment, which could help retired people to lead a peaceful life provided that the money is sufficient for their future endeavors. Moreover, by paying for their living expenditure, the countries are not overburdened. There are instances, where some nations are prospering because their citizens are self-sufficient. However, this ideology is limited to few governments only. To conclude, there is no denying the fact that old people may have the caliber to sustain independently, but the importance of governments’ aid could certainly result in refining the quality of their lives.