Some people believe that the government should continuously support the development of arts. Others believe that the money can be well spent on scientific research.

Arts and sciences both contribute significantly to a country’s prosperity in the modern world, but which one is worth more funds still remains controversial. While some people believe that the government should spend continuously on arts, I would argue that the government’s budget should be planned more carefully and in some cases, scientific research definitely needs more money. Some people think that arts should be funded in a continuous way because this can enrich people’s cultural life and possibly they can have better moods every day. If the spending on the film industry increases, film-makers will be able to produce films of higher quality to entertain the viewers, and after watching an entertaining film, these people will definitely be happier. In addition, some musical instruments can also be installed in public places with sufficient budget, and people who want to play them can feel free to do that. Both the players and the listeners will benefit from this. On the other hand, scientific research is also indispensable as with higher technology, people can have a better quality of life, especially in some deprived countries. The investment in genetic engineering can increase the yields in agriculture by inventing new hybrid crops, and people naturally will not suffer from hunger any more. Finally, the research in the areas of communications technology such as the Internet can reshape people’s lives, as they will be able to get richer resources faster and many new technologies will also appear as a result of it. In my view, the government’s expenditure on arts is not likely to improve people’s living standards significantly and for countries whose citizens are still struggle with a basic standard of living, the investment in scientific research should be considered first, as this is more practical and can solve some urgent problems about people’s daily life domestically.