Nowadays in many countries chemicals are used to produce and preserve food. Do the dangers associated with the use of chemicals in food production outweigh the advantages?

It is common now in different countries to use chemicals for the production and preservation of food. In my opinion, I consider this phenomenon can bring about more problem for preservative food products compared to any advantages it might bring. Despite the drawbacks mentioned below, there are some basic benefits of adding certain substances into food at the time of processing can be named, but most of them are of marketing nature and give little value to consumers. For example, chemicals can help preserve food for a longer period. Thus, it can be subsequently transported over vast distances. Preservatives will also prolong the shelf life of food. Another point to consider is that colors and flavorings can make food more attractive. This can present some degree of importance to people who prefer to derive pleasure from eating, even at the cost of nutritive value. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe this phenomenon is associated with several acute dangers. Most importantly, such chemical compounds can seriously harm our health, increasing the risk of chronic and incurable conditions. For instance, added sugar can lead to type 2 diabetes; excessive amount of salt promotes heart diseases through raising blood pressure. Some substances added into food at factories have been found carcinogenic and toxic for our genes and neural cells, the latter impacting a person’s behavior. Another obvious issue is that residues of chemicals used in food industry are thrown away, often negligently, and pollute the environment. As a result, we not only contaminate our own food, but also disrupt natural food chains. In conclusion, the risk of developing diabetes or cancer clearly outweighs any minor benefits that could result from chemicals being used in food processing. .