Some people believe that the best way to improve the general well-being of schoolchildren is to make physical education compulsory in all school. Others, however, think that this would have a little effect on overall health and that other measures are needed.

The growing concern of obesity and its associated risks has become one of the largest among adults in general but students in particular. The detrimental effects of this rising problem have paved the way for a possible solution - the introduction of more exercise in the school setting. While this proposed solution may oversee the problem in certain aspects, I disagree that it is the best way to deal with it. To effectively overcome this obstacle, I believe it is of utmost importance to delve deeper into its root cause. First and foremost, problems associated with food habits, such as obesity, are more recent developments. The increase in fast food chains and delivery services has made people more reliant on such forms of food over the last decade due to its accessibility, low cost, and convenience. Thus, a more effective solution to this problem would be to alter dietary patterns. Alongside a growing number of fast-food chains, a healthier, more nutritious side to food has emerged. It is imperative that people shift from outdated and unhealthy sources of food to healthier, nutrient-rich alternatives, which are easily available at most supermarkets. This gradual move to a more balanced diet would allow people to solve most external and internal dietary issues firsthand. Secondly, I believe it is important to acknowledge the ineffectiveness of existing physical education programs in many schools. Many, if not most, physical education programs are only catered to the likes and strengths of certain students. For example, sports such as basketball or running may appeal only to a mere few and the remaining students are forced to either push through not wanting to do it or spend their time as bystanders of the event. This may harbor the very purpose of sport and physical education in school and likely cause unwanted health concerns among them. Although there are evident downsides to the introduction of more physical education classes as discussed, there could be potential benefits to it if properly planned. Having a A more structured, laid-out, and organized plan could motivate students to challenge themselves and foster healthy competition within school grounds, leading to lesser major health matters. In conclusion, physical education is an essential component of school curriculums and can be used to tackle increasing obesity issues. The main challenge is however not in the quantity but rather the quality of education being received. Nevertheless, the most effective solution to health risks lies in the move to a healthier lifestyle and balanced diet.