Some people believe that the best way to deal with heavy traffic in city centres is for privately owned vehicles to be banned, others however think this is not a realistic solution.

The debate on whether or not personal vehicles should be banned in urban areas has led to polarised views. Although some people belive that prohibiting private vehicles is the most suitable method to tackle traffic congestion, others are of contrary opinion. In my opinion, I disagree with the view that personal cars should not be allowed in the city because there are insufficient public transports in urban areas On the one hand, some people, are of the opinion that in order to curb the enormous traffic in the cities, private vehicles should be prevented from moving on the roads because when they are banned, there will be fewer cars on the highways, thereby indirectly reducing traffic congestion. For instance, in USA, there are limited places where private cars are allowed to move. Their major means of transportation is the government owned electronic trains which helps to put a check on traffic. Nevertheless, despite the benefit, I completely disagree with this view because there are limited public transports. On the other hand, some people including myself believe that prohibiting private vehicles are impratical. This is because, there are limited vehicles for mass transit, that is to say, the cars available for public transport cannot keep pace with the increase in population of the city. For example, In 2010 when government restricted private vehicles in China, as a means of restricting traffic jam, there was no enough vehicle to transport people to there respective destinations, frequently they have to sit in a long traffic queues. From the aforementioned example, it is apparent that more investment need to be put into mass transport in order to alleviate traffic jams. In conclusion, a reasonable number of people are of the opinion that personal vehicles should not be allowed in city centre while others feel this is unrealistic. In my opinion, I totally disagree with the view that personal cars should be banned because there are insufficient public transport to covey people.