Some people believe that the best way of learning about life is by listening to the advice of family and friends. Others believe that the best way of learning about life is through personal experiences. Compare the advantages of these two different ways of learning about life. Which do you think is preferable? Use specific examples to support your preference.

Learning takes place from both listening to other people's advice and one's own experience of doing things. While some people believe that it is always good to listen to the advice of family and friends, there are others who argue that learning from one's own experience is the best. A sensible analysis reveals that both these ways have their advantages in our lives. A valid reason for learning from other people's experience is that it is relatively an easy way to avail oneself of. It is very helpful for a person to avoid mistakes. Besides, getting guidance can fulfil a person's need to get psychological support. It is widely accepted that learning from others example is nothing but wisdom. Besides, everything cannot be experienced in one's life. In spite of its advantages, depending on other people all the time exposes an individual's inability to make decisions. Everybody is unique. Trying to become somebody else may lead to unpleasant consequences. Being able to take decisions depending on the situations and seriousness of the issue is* of immense significance. In addition to that, always remaining reliant on others is impractical. As such, I prefer to learn from my own experience. However, as a person grows up into adulthood, their society expects them to be more responsible. Therefore, learning by doing things is more advantageous. Overall, the complex process of learning is multifaceted. Listening to the advices of family and friends is of unquestionable value since they are born out of their own experiences and hence reliable. Still it cannot be overlooked that experience makes a person better because we do not forget what we learn from our experience.