Some people believe that the activities of large multinational corporations mostly benefit the economies of developing countries. Other people take the opposite view and feel that these multinationals are harmful.

The commercial activities of multinational companies are becoming increasingly debatable. It is often argued that the actions of huge global companies are beneficial to countries with growing economies while others maintain that these organisations have primarily adverse effects. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence as to why such corporations are highly profitable. There are a growing number of employees who believe that multinationals are effective patterns in terms of economic developments among developing nations. Put simply, their reasons are that the international investments provide local people with high paying jobs. In addition, a local company could be a branch of larger businesses which can make huge profits. In Canada, for instance, statistical evidence suggests that the members of internationals earn 32% more than staff of independent businesses. Overall, these people are in favour of this idea as multinational corporations help to accelerate the economy and the employment rate. In contrast to those who believe that big companies have great advantages, there are some people who are in disharmony with this assertion. One of the major issues is that these companies can take customers from small firms. This means that the local businesses would be in economic recession and even they could go bankrupt. Restaurant chains of McDonald, for example, spend a lot of money to advertise their products, causing local restaurants could not sell their own food products. In short, some people feel that these multinationals can threaten small business companies. In conclusion, despite the fact that multinational enterprises benefit, some economists are in disagreement about and suggest that these companies are harmful. This essay discussed the various reasons why people hold these points of views and whether these would be a part of economic development. In my opinion, despite having some negative influences, I firmly regard multinational corporations are generally beneficial.