You are currently trying to improve your knowledge of a language which is not your original language. You have a friend who speaks this new language perfectly. Write to your friend, Explaining why you want to learn this new language Asking him/her for suggestions on how to learn more quickly Proposing that you meet your friend to talk about these steps

Band 9 model letterDear PeterI thought it was time to get in touch, especially as I remember you’re a fluent speaker of Italian. Imight have mentioned this before, but I’m working for an Italian company now, and so I need to speakquite a lot of Italian when I have meetings with the staff. I wonder if you could give me a few tips on how to speed up my Italian learning? Do you think Ishould have lessons, or are there any self-study books which you can recommend? Sometimes I thinkabout doing a crash course in Italy, but I think this might be too intensive, and I’d be interested to hearyour view on that too. Maybe, if you’re going to be in the area in the next few weeks, we could get together and I could pickyour brains about this subject. There is actually a very well-known Italian restaurant in my street, sodinner would be my pleasure, and the surroundings would be perfect! Let me know what you think, and I hope to see you at some point soon. All the best, Nestor