Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Community work is a work performed by people for the betterment and benefit of a society. However, it is a contentious issue whether community work should be done for free or children should be paid for that. I partially believe that community work should have some monetary benefit attached to it. Young ones working free for the community have numerous benefits for the community. For example, working in an aged care without any monetary benefit children can learn the sense of true happiness, which is helping someone without thinking about getting something in return. Eliminating monetary benefit can attract more people towards community service and people might do it with their heart rather see it as a work. Furthermore, as children see this work without the monetary value then they would be keen towards protecting the environment, helping others, care about the community and respect for elders. Moreover, younger generation would take some financial burden off from the charities, non-profit organizations and governments who have limited financial budgets for the community work. Moreover, it is believed if we force young people to work without any financial benefit then this can have numerous disadvantages. For example, without any financial benefit children would see community work as a burden and they might not do it whole heartedly which can impact their on-work performance. Furthermore, in today’s capitalist society people need money to survive, so we should not force young ones to work for free. Moreover, children should be taught that good work can also bring monetary benefits for them, so they would feel motivated in their work, hence can lead to good performance. In conclusion, I partially believe that free community work should not be imposed on the young ones as we already have an option of volunteering, so anyone willing to work for free can volunteer.