First impressions are important. Some people think that doing well in interviews is the key to securing a good job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that you can never get a second chance to make a first impression, especially in work. It is, therefore, essential that you take time to get it right in the first time. Even though good first impressions are important in interviews, but I strongly disagree that it can guarantee to secure a good job. There are two main reasons why candidates try to make a good first impression in job interviews. Firstly, it is an opportunity for job seekers to demonstrate their competence to their potential employer. They can do this by answering interview questions well, and well-prepared answers and ability to convince to a potential employer that you are the one they are looking for that particular position. Secondly, it is tremendously important for the candidate to come across well on the personal level. They can do this by showing confidence including having good eye contact, smiling, and a good handshake. On the other hand, I would argue that qualifications and experience are most important than just the interview performance. For example, when hiring an accountant, a candidate with an accounting degree and relevant experience with the accounting software’s would be more likely to be successful in getting a job. Furthermore, qualifications can show to a potential employer about the relevant knowledge of an interviewees, as it is the key to perform well in a particular job. Moreover, relevant experience can be fundamental in securing a job because it is generally believed that companies avoid the hassle of giving trainings to their newly hired employees. In conclusion, I believe that qualifications and experience are essential in securing a good job, although good impressions can also help at the interview stage.