Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well.

Volunteers are the backbone of the community. In addition, they play a humongous role in the growth and development of society. Some believe that adolescence is the right stage for children to get involved in social work in their free time. This essay discusses how it can benefit both teenagers and the community in multiple ways and why few oppose this idea. Nowadays, teenagers spend most of their time on television, mobile phones, and the internet, and tend to forget about the outside world. However, engaging the young ones in community work can divert them from other negative thoughts. Furthermore, the juvenile get to socialize with various people and learn about different cultures. Along with that, youth can involve in some activities like cleaning their localities and planting trees, this helps them to become responsible towards society and enhance their social skills. On contrary, firstly, in the current education system, the pupils do not find any free time as they are already occupied with home works, assignments and so on. It is adverse asking them to participate in volunteering works during their insignificant leisure period. Secondly, the candidate coming from a poor family background would prefer to go for a well-paid part-time job rather than doing free community work. To conclude, children participating in social work are very much appreciated if it is of their own interest. In spite of having few drawbacks, I strongly agree that it can definitely benefit both teenagers and the community.