Foreign Languages Replacing Local Languages

A number of countries are taking steps to protect minority languages as the use of foreign languages such as English, Spanish, and Mandarin increases and some local languages are likely dying out. In many developing countries, learning and mastering foreign languages are now becoming a priority. It is not only because of the trade situation but also due to education and job opportunity. Those people who have the capacity to speak English, Spanish, or Mandarin, for instance, have a greater chance to obtain their dream job or study abroad. As a result, people having more interest to learn those languages than trying to preserve their local languages. This phenomenon, however, raises a fear that some native languages will become extinct. Therefore, governments and stakeholders in several countries establish regulations to protect the local languages, especially the endangered ones. In Indonesia, for instance, there are several programs offer by the government in coordination with local institutions to held some research in order to collect data about native languages that are still spoken by indigenous people in some areas. In the education system, there is also a curriculum established by a certain primary school which is local language teaching. From my point of view, those actions are wise decisions of the government to preserve the native languages which have valuable meaning for the society as a nation. Preserving local languages means protecting the identity owned by a country. In addition, those languages will help the communities maintaining their culture. In summary, the government in some countries are taking a proper decision to protect the local languages by establishing certain research and special curriculum on their education system, seeing the growing interest in foreign languages followed by the tendency for minority languages to vanish.