Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well.

Nowadays, a few people believe youngsters must be encouraged to participate in unpaid social service during their free time. It would be beneficial for both teenagers and society. This essay strongly disagrees with this view and discusses valid arguments in this essay. First, suppose teenagers are required to volunteer for unpaid community services. In that case, some people think it would enhance their empathy towards humanity and nature. As teenagers are highly impressionable, working for the community will turn them into socially responsible adults. So, for the benefit of the community and teenagers, teenagers must be encouraged to occupy themselves with voluntary work in their free time. However, children between thirteen and nineteen years of age are fragile. Through community work, they have to dig deep into the harsh realities of life, such as hunger and poverty. It could adversely affect their young conscience. They would be carrying the negative image of society in their minds throughout their lives. Also, if the work is unpaid, there is a lack of motivation. If they are not payable for their efforts, they may get discouraged to participate in the future. For example, many children are devastated when they interact with the deprived segment of society. Sometimes, this leads to severe cognitive issues like depression and a phobia of meeting new people. Therefore, it should not be mandatory for teenagers to participate in unpaid social work in their free time. To conclude, although unpaid community service is a noble task. Teenagers should not be forced to engage in it until it is ready, as it exposes them to the harsh realities of life. Hence, volunteering should be a choice and not an obligation.