Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth.

It is true that genetic engineering become increasingly popular nowadays. While some people think this this technology pose negative effects on human life, I would argue that this genetic advancement would bring more benefits for our society as a whole. On the one hand, where are various reasons why people connect genetic engineering with damaging influences. Firstly, criminals could take advantage of this technology and create bio weapon for war purposes. For example, human cloning with specific physical characteristics in order to create an army. Secondly, gene modification on plants and animals threatens biodiversity causing food chain disruption. For instance, some plant genes might be adjusted leading to didfficulties for some bees to pollinate or even having harmful effects on the animal itself. On the other hand, genes engineering allows us to create plants having pest resistance with the use of pesticide and fertilizers. This could make a huge contribution on environmental protection. Furthermore, medicine industry could gain tremendous benefits in many genetic modification applications. Genetic human diseases could be treated in the early stage with the assistance of gene snipping and replacing. In addition, human organ and body parts cloning would play a vital role in implementing transplantation. In conclusion, even though there are some certain disadvantages for gene engineering in human life, it seems to me that there are more important and valuable advantages which are worth our attention.