Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time.

Teenage years are some of the most important years of person’s life. What we learn as a teenager can highly benefit us in our adult life, even if it means working for free or taking part in community services. Not only it helps teenagers gain new experiences, but it also teaches them various social skills that will definitely help in the long run. When I was a teenager myself, I used to avoid participating in community services, mainly because I was too wound up in having fun with friends and also playing videos games. Looking back, I realized that my negligence and constant procrastination during those years made my adult life way more taxing for me. I had to learn various social skills as an adult with no prior work experience within a community. On top of that, I learned that taking part in community work or any kind of unpaid work would have also boosted my confidence, primarily in the communication department. Therefore, I totally agree with the people who believe teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This would result in teenagers being more prepared for the adult life as well as the working life in general.