Some people believe that technology has made man more social.

Some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extent do you agree with the opinion? There is an opinion saying that the advent of technology has resulted in us being more social. I agree with the statement to some extent; however, its harmful effects on our socialization should not be overlooked. On the one hand, it is undeniable that technology is what has facilitated interaction with other individuals. Nowadays, communication with people throughout the world has become possible, thanks to the advent of computer technology and the internet. Without them, we had to travel long distances to meet the individuals to converse with them. These difficulties would have led to a narrower range of friends and acquaintances, which, in turn, would have resulted in the generation before us being less social. On the other hand, the negative impacts of introducing technology on our social behavior are by no means negligible. Firstly, using internet technologies like social networks, individuals are less likely to have physical, face-to-face interactions. In other words, they might prefer to be present in the virtual world rather than the real world. In my opinion, the more one is engrossed in their social networks, the more socially isolated they become, not only from strangers but also from close relatives. Secondly, many people are spending too much time watching television or playing computer games. This trend might reduce the amount of time that parents and children can spend together, resulting in loneliness and isolation. In conclusion, I agree that technology has made some positive contributions to our communications and has made us more social, but in some cases, it has bred loneliness and isolation too.