Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

People are divided on the view that product commercials instill us with an idea to buy new goods while others think that it provides information of new launches. This essay will discuss both and will state arguments to support both opinions. I am personally in favor of the latter statement. Advertisements give the knowledge about the different uses of the article which we visualize for our personal use and in turn, it creates the demand for it. For example, hair color was often done at the salon but the promotion activities by different companies, it gave us the option that it can be applied at home also without any hassle. We often see posters offering offseason discounts in which we buy those clothes which will be used next season. On the other hand, some things we might not be aware of which are useful to us but these are only possible through the medium of these announcements on television or on the radios. For instance, hair care, skincare creams that improve our lives are known to us in this way. They also educate us about the important things and also about the harmful effects of like in Covid pandemic, there were commercials which provide a warning to us what you should do and what not, how often the hands should be washed. I believe yes these also create unnecessary needs in humans but they have more merits than demerits. All the posters, pamphlets in this corona gave us much more idea about the situations in and around the globe and even helped with the measures which need to be taken care of. To sum up, I would like to highlight it has numerous advantages than the disadvantages.