Some people believe that success in life depends upon hard work and determination while others believe that other factors like money and personal appearance are important

The children of today have a greater freedom of choice than ever before. This has led to a discussion regarding the benefits of this phenomenon wherein, some voices advocate the importance of decision making from a young age, especially on matters pertaining to their lives. However, an opposing belief is that it will lead to these children growing up to be individualistic and self centred adults. This essay will discuss both view points and conclude with an opinion. There are two essential benefits in allowing children the freedom of choice in making personal decisions. Firstly, they gain vital life experience from the consequences of the choices they make. This is an invaluable life lesson that cannot be taught by other means. Secondly, the ability to make decisions also accelerates their financial management skills. For instance, in a comparitive study conducted by the University of Oslo, it was observed that children who were given a greater freedom to make decisions from an early age managed to handle their virtual assets in a simulation better than the control group. This result emphasises on the value of letting children choose for themselves. On the other hand, the view that letting children make their own choices will eventually result in self centred adults is somewhat pedantic. Allowing children this freedom is unlikely to result in narcissistic tendencies as there are fewer subconscious regrets in their minds regarding potentially missed opportunities. As an example, 3 out of 5 adults regret having grown up in a stifling environment and reported to have suffered from episodes of envy and retaliatory behaviour. This control centric approach is thus, seemingly counterproductive. To conclude, our society has always comprised of a varied spectrum of people having had different experiences pertaining to decision making in their formative years. Scientific literature points towards the benefits of inculcating the ability to make decisions from an early age. Therefore, I believe that it is crucial for the younger generations to exercise their freedom of choice from a young age.