Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school.

People have different views about whether students should have a job directly after graduating from middle school. This essay will discuss that students should be encouraged to study at university to prepare for their careers, though there are some benefits to get a job after school. It is accepted by many people that youngsters should have a job earlier to acquire basic social and working skills. They argue that having more work experiences is much more important than getting a relatively invaluable certificate or degree at university. For example, a candidate with strong work background and experience is more competitive than a new graduate in an interview. Therefore, a large number of students prefer to work as soon as they leave school. However, studying at university has more positive influence on students’ future life and career in a long run. First, studying at university does not mean that students do not have the possibility to practice their working skills. That is to say, students can have part-time jobs if it is necessary. Second, students can not only learn some practical skills but also improve their soft skills, such as teaming work, communication abilities at university. These skills are of great importance in their future career. Thirdly, with the certification or degree from a university, students will have more options for their career in the future. For example, some students can continue their academic study if they have potential research ability. To sum it up, getting a job directly is not a good idea for high school students, and all students should get a chance to study at university to improve their social skills, as well as expand their career options.