Some people believe that students should be taught international news as a subject at school. Others feel that this would be a waste of valuable school time.

In the view of many, international news must be included in the school curriculum. Nevertheless, while some claim it to waste students’ precious time, I believe in the importance of knowledge about the situation in the world. It is crucial for young generation to be aware of global news, according to some. This could be explained by considerable influence of media, which eventually affects students’ outlook on life. Knowing the problem of global warming, for instance, could inspire school children to be more conscious in their consumption and thrifty in relation to the nature. That means if young people acquire the valid interpretation of a particular world issue, they could influence the final result. For this reason, I am convinced it is preferable for schools to include such a paramount subject as international news. However, others maintain that it is not important for students to devote their valuable hours at school to the mentioned subject. This could largely be attributed to its negative impact on other curriculum disciplines. To illustrate, many students suffer from spending most of their free time doing a great deal of homework. In other words, should they take one more class such as international news, their overall academic performance could decline. Nonetheless, I believe that when young people manage time efficiently, they can learn a number of more useful things. In conclusion, although some people do not believe in the value of knowledge about international context, others can vividly see its significance due to its positive effect on the worldview of the younger generation. As for me, the more we learn about international situations, the better we can impact the future.