Some people believe that residents are responsible for the place where they live to be clean and tidy. Others believe that the government is responsible.

A number of people are in the idea that the residents are the ones who should be held responsible for maintaining cleanliness around the streets, and there are many who believe that, it is the duty of the government. I totally believe that, it should be a joined effort by both the government and the residents to maintain the streets neat and tidy. On one hand, there are many reasons why certain people think that, it is the obligation of the government to look after the proper cleanliness of the city. Firstly, when the citizens are paying a huge amount of tax, it is the onus of government to allocate some amount of money for the collection of waste and disposing them, putting waste bins on the streets, and finally should impose strict laws against littering the streets and should collect heavy fines for that. For instance, if we take singapore, one of the most clean city in the world, they put large amount of penalty if someone is found littering the streets. On the other hand, when some people say that it is the responsibility of the residents to maintain the city clean, it is beacuse, even if the government provide all kind of measures to make the streets tidy, the residents are the ones who should make good practice of properly disposing the waste on the bins. Habits like spitting on roads, throwing cigrette buds should be stopped completely. The governments merely imposing laws and providing aids for this, just doesn't do the work, residents should also contribute their part in maintaining the cities clean and orderly. To conclude, for a city or street to be in an immaculate condition, both the government and the local residents should jointly work for it.