Some people believe that reducing speed limits is the best option for road safety improvement. Do you think there are other measures that could put in place? What are advantages and disadvantages of this?

Recruiters currently tend to favour candidates who have formal academic qualifications over those with only life experiences or personal attributes. Although the trend occurs for several reasons, this may have an adverse influence on our society. To begin with, there are two main reasons why people opt for a degree than experience. First, candidates with scholastic qualifications are believed to be equipped with in-depth knowledge and useful skills, which are necessary for future jobs. For instance, a candidate for the biology teacher position is required to have a great deal of knowledge at university as well as spend a lot of time to practice and carry out experiments, which can somehow prove through medical study qualifications. In addition, selecting the candidate base on the common criteria certificate may significantly diminish the time to tailor the suitable applicants for the position. As a result, recruiters presumably equate academic qualifications to excellent credentials for the occupation, leading to higher efficiency and greater contributions to the company. On the other hand, personal skills and life experience also play a pivotal role in the recruitment process. First and foremost, a degree does not signal whether a person possesses essential personal traits such as discipline, self-confidence and responsibility. Such personalities of employees are the needs for a great working-environment and the sustainable of the organization. Furthermore, since employees have a penchant for over-relying on their formal academic knowledge and lack of skills, they consequently devote tremendous effort in dealing with their clients in real-life predicaments and might not crises as effectively as those with life experience. In conclusion, the priority of formal academic qualifications over life experience or personal characteristics in the recruitment process has been widely highlighted as an emerging issue for many reasons. However, hiring authorities of a company should reach the balance between social skills and other important qualifications for the job.