Some people believe that printed newspapers are becoming worthless in the contemporary life.

Some people believe that printed newspapers are becoming worthless in the contemporary life. While there are a variety of ground supporting this view, I would argue that printed newspapers continue to play an essential role in life. Continuous advancement in technology provides people with more convenient options for gathering news which are alternatives for printed newspapers. First, an enormous number of articles or reports nowadays could be assessed merely via smartphones or computer with the internet connection, and not only does the news contain a broad spectrum of contents but it can also be updated by the minute. It is obviously more convenient than the traditional measure of reading news, for example, on daily newspapers with limited content in few pages. Second, the spread of alternative options namely the radio or the internet which reach almost every corner of the world has reduced the dependence on printed newspapers as a main source of information. Despite such advantages of the news conveys by other faster means, I consider that there is still a continuing need for printed newspapers today. One reason is that reading a newspaper is a daily habit which many people, especially the elderly, still enjoy. They are really interested in the leisurely routine of reading newspapers over breakfast or drinking cups of coffee. Another consideration is people can share the newspapers with others since printed newspapers can simply be picked up or put down at a will. For example, I often read a newspaper on the train or bus and then leave the paper on the seat for other passengers if they wish. In conclusion, albeit the increasing availability of other high-speed sources of news, newspapers still contribute a certain value to human life today.