Some people believe that personal information of violent criminals should be made available to the public

A highly controversial issue today relates to publicizing individual information of violent criminals. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then give my own opinion on the matter. On one side of the argument there are people who argue that the benefits of exposing criminal’s information considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that when criminals’ personal informations are made public, the community will be protected better. It is also possible to say that making announcement of the criminals can help polices to arrest criminals if they escape from jail. One good illustration of this is the prison break of Joaquin Guzman- a Mexican drug dealer in 2015. Through publicizing Guzman’s information, polices took him prisoner after six months. On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that making public someone’s personal information violates the rights of a citizen. People often have this opinion because exposing criminals’ information can have negative impact on individuals that relate to them. A second point is that when national governors publicize the criminal’s information, it can be against the law if the criminals are finally sentenced to be innocent. A particularly good example here is that in 2019, a Korean singer was accused of using drug. The citizens researched his family’s informations, then publicized them on social medias and criticized his parents violently. In the end, he was sentenced to be blameless, but he could not continue his career because of the public pressure. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that informations of criminals should be available to the public. This is because through these informations, citizens will aware of the importance of obeying the law, and that will help to decrease the crime rate.