Some people believe that not all criminals should be kept in prison ,but that some of them should be allowed to do unpaid work to help the community.Do you agree or disagree?

It is indubitable that crime rate is increasing day by day all over the world. Many individuals are of the opinion that major criminals should be kept in prison but those who do minor crimes should be given some voluntary work for the betterment of the community. I completely agree with this statement. In this essay, I shall put forth my arguments to support my opinion. Admittedly, people who commit heinous crimes should certainly be given life-time imprisonment such as murderers, rapists etcetera. This is because they are dangerous to the society if they roam around freely in the communities. As people might feel unsafe and as a consequence of which there is a situation of insecurity in the residential areas. On the other hand, some criminals who commit minor crimes should be given other options to make improvements in themselves. To begin with, in case of thieves, bulglars, chain snatchers, pickpocketers and many more others, there should be a free of cost community service so that such offenders can learn lessons from their mistakes. Hence, they can improve themselves to lead a pleasant life and contribute positively to the society. On top of that, by giving them voluntary work to help the society, they would become responsible as well as learn the importance of hard work which results in decrement in the crime rates on the whole. This would be a win-win situation for both the wrong -doers and the local community. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that serious culprits must put behind the bars in order to make realise them about their wrong activities, those who do petty offends ought to give a chance to become better in the future.