Some people believe that money is the best gift for teenagers while others disagree.

Throughout the history, gifts have had a significant role defining the relationship between individuals. Although type, cost and size of the gift has a tremendous effect on the interpretation of the act, the age of the receiver plays a significant role upon decision. There is a general belief that money is among the most suitable gifts for teenagers due to its properties. However, groups of people do not see monetary handout as a best practice. I strongly agree with the latter. On the one hand, monetary gifts have an extremely versatile functionality. This puts the choice of what do to with it and how to spend it in the recipient's hands. For example, the receiver may choose to accumulate sums of money received from different people, and use it on a mainly expensive item which none of them could afford individually. There might be the features of the item at hand, which are highly customizable and only by deciding by their own the beneficiary would be able to entertain themselves to the highest level. These are some of the reasons which make giving a teenager money as a gift a reasonable choice. On the other hand, some people believe that the spirit of gifting someone is based on giving them something so they would be useful for them, as well as remind them of you. This is what could be observed in souvenirs and other gifting traditions. Depending on the occasion, the gifter tries hard to find something suitable and enjoyable for the receiver. Considering this mindset, giving money would have no sentimental value to the recipient, which in return eliminates the whole purpose. Moreover, the money may be spent unwisely on goods or services which are not beneficial or, on the contrary on something which is required but not enjoyable, thus diminishing its emotional effect. By the way of conclusion, there are vastly different ways of handing over presents to another person. Giving money as gift is somewhat popular in many societies. However, there are groups of people who still argue that money does not have required acceptability of a gift. I believe, although money provides the receiver with a lot of options, it lacks emotional properties of a gift.