Some people believe that mathematics is better taught using computers.

The advance of technologies is increasing nowadays. Computers have become important for people to do their activities. Computers are also used in education. Educators have been calling to reform and look for effective approaches to boost student mathematics performance, and the answer is the use of educational technology (Cheung and Slavin, 2011, p. 2). Some people believe that mathematics is better taught using computers. I agree with this and think that mathematics is better taught using computers. First of all, students can learn mathematics effectively. Teachers can help students learn mathematics using computers with interesting methods. Olkun et al (2005, p. 317) found that students who did not have computers at home initially had lower geometry scores. Therefore, Olkun (2005, p. 317) suggests that in schools, it seems more effective to integrate mathematical content and technology in a manner that enables students to do playful mathematical discoveries. It is easier for students to understand mathematics when teachers use playful methods, such as games. Students feel more motivated to learn mathematics using computer games. For example, when an elementary student has a lesson about mathematics in traditional ways, he usually doesn't give attention and has difficulty in understanding. He also gets bored. But, when an elementary student has a lesson by playing a game, he will give attention and be more motivated to learn. Secondly, digitalisation happens in many aspects of life. Computers are used for running a plenty of industries in the world. A lot of people will be using a computer to do all the work in their future job. Other than that, mathematics is fundamental for many professions, such as science, technology, etc. Therefore, mathematics that is taught using computers can make students more adaptable with their job in the future. This statement is strengthened by Oppenheimer’s (1997, p. 31) statement in which he says that "I believe that the computer as a writing instrument offers children an opportunity to become more like adults, indeed like advanced professionals, in their relationships to other intellectual products and to themselves". So, mathematics that is taught using computers will help students for their future. For example, in Europe, students who taught mathematics using computers are familiar with using computers. So, the result is they should be able to use computers when they have to work in data science. In conclusion, as can be seen from the arguments above, mathematics is better taught using computers so that students can learn mathematics effectively and help them to adapt for their future too.