Other decisions are often intuitive ones

Other decisions are often intuitive ones. They are not really rational. The manager may have hunch or a gut feeling that a certain course of action is the right on. He will follow that hunch and act accordingly. Thus, when looking for an agent in an overseas market, a sales manager may have several companies to choose from. However, he may go for one organization simply because he feels it would be the most suitable agent. He may think that the chemistry between the two firms is right. Such a decision is based on hunch rather than rational thought. Many decisions are more difficult to make since they involve problem-solving. Very often, they are strategic decisions involving major courses of action which will affect the future direction of the enterprise. To make good decisions, the manager should be able to select, rationally, a course of action. In practice, decisions are usually made in circumstances which are not ideal. They must be made quickly with insufficient information. It is probably rare that a manager can make an entirely rational decision.