Some people believe that long imprisonment of criminals is the only way to reduce crime rate. Others believe there should be alternative ways. Discuss and state your opinion.

The escalating crime rate is a serious problem that created a huge impact to society. News headlines in the newspapers, TV news, and even in the radio have disturbed people in such way that there is hesitancy in going out anytime of the day. The police and the government are looking for measures on how to reduce the crime rate. Some people believe that the only way to reduce crime rate is to imprison criminals for a longer time, while there are others who think that alternative ways are more effective. This essay will discuss the two points of views and an opinion will be offered later. To begin with, many people believe that law offenders should be punished with long term imprisonment, to discourage the commission of more crimes, and to allow these criminals to reform. Foremost, the criminals will not have any opportunity to commit crimes and influence others to do so, as these people are in seclusion inside the prison. For instance, the children of the rapists are now apprehensive to follow the bad examples set by the father, and the siblings of the terrorist will now think twice of committing the same crime, for fear of ending also in jail. Moreover, such type of imprisonment will actually allow the criminals to reform by reflecting on the committed crime through exposure to counselling that will put emphasis on the consequences of the crime to the victims. Also, there is a possibility of spiritual conversion even in prison especially that Christian organizations are conducting religious seminars to prisoners, as an outreach program. Hence, these aforementioned arguments show the benefits of long imprisonment. However, other people believe that alternative ways to punish criminals will be effective to reduce crime rate in the society, as this will give the criminals the opportunity to serve, and will address the different degrees of crime committed. Firstly, there are new modes of services in which the prisoners can actually serve the community. For instance, some may be admonished to serve as volunteers in government projects or programs geared towards providing livelihood to the community. In the United States of America, some law offenders are actually absorbed in the military, to help maintain the peace and order of the country. Secondly, in most instances, the degree of crime committed actually vary. There are criminals who committed extreme crimes like multiple murder and terrorism, and there are also those who only committed minor offenses such as theft and moral defamation. Thus, to institute long imprisonment may not be fair to all the criminals. In summary, both the long imprisonment and the alternative ways have been argued considerably in how these can reduce crime. In my opinion, I believe that the punishment for any crime should be dependent upon the type of crime, in as much as the gravity of crime is not the same. In this manner, justice is still given even to the criminals.