In this technological era, personal information is held on computers by many companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In our industrialized society nowadays, many network corporations are actively collecting their customers’ private datum. From my perspective, I think this could lead to some potential problems. Firstly, taking personal informations is considered privacy invasion. Informations such as credit card, home address, websites visited, phone number…, should only be possessed by the owner. Some companies are even taking these datas without users’ consent, this is regard as breaking the law. Many cases concerning privacy of the users have occurred and the corporations were heavily fined. Hence, companies should not take personal statistics. Secondly, the informations collected could fall in the hands of the bad or used wrongly. Hackers can easily hack into the company’s system and get people’s informations. Therefore, these datas can be used for fraud, blackmailing, impersonating and more. Some people have been called by swindlers and have been blackmailed. Somehow the caller knew their informations such as address, workplace and number so they panicked and did as the caller said. For this reason, individual datas should only be kept by the person themselves. Companies have stated that collecting informations helps improve their customers’ experience. Advertisements based on their likings, suggestions of what users need will be displayed, therefore it would be more personalized. But too many advertisements and notifications could be distracting, confusing and sometimes annoying. Thus, this is not a very great advantage. In conclusion, I think it is not alright for companies to gather their customers’ personal datas. Doing so could cause issues such as the invasion of privacy, hackers and more. Companies should work on how to improve clients’ experience without having to take too much data from them.