Some people believe that living in big cities is better than living in rural areas, but others believe that living in rural areas is better than living in big cities.

One of the most topical issues in modern society is where to live. There are those who think that living in metropolitan areas is better than living in rural areas; however, others believe that living in rural areas is better than living in metropolitan areas. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion. There are a number of reasons why people think that living in metropolitan areas is better than living in rural areas. The most significant reason is that people have more opportunities to find a suitable job because there are numerous companies, factories and conglomerates from various fields located there. As a result, people will have a wider selection of jobs and will not be unemployable. Secondly, people will have more entertainment options, health and education facilities. This is because of a higher standard of living in big cities so the government needs to invest in a lot of facilities to meet a need of people to keep them in their areas. Despite these arguments, others feel that living in rural areas is better than living in metropolitan areas. The primary reason for this argument is that rural areas have cleaner air and are more peaceful due to less pollution because of fewer vehicles and factories. Therefore, people will feel more relaxed and comfortable enjoying their life. Secondly, the cost of living in rural areas is cheaper than in big cities. This is because people might have many vacant grounds to grow plants, vegetables or breed pigs, chickens so they can be self-sufficient and not need to pay a lot of money for food. In conclusion, this is a topic which has an effect on a large number of people. I am of the opinion that living in rural areas is better than in big cities because rural areas are peaceful, quiet, less polluted and not overcrowded so people might live longer for those reasons. If people wanted to live in a place that was active, noisy and highly competitive, they would have lived in big cities but I believe that when they are old, they will go to rural areas to live.