Some people believe that living in an apartment instead of a university dormitory has many advantages while others say that it has many disadvantages.

After getting admitted to a university, students need to decide where to live, and this choice severely affects their academic performance and student life. While many disciples choose university halls, others opt to live in an apartment, and it has both benefits and demerits. This essay examines both advantages and disadvantages of living in a separate apartment than living in a university residence. Personally, I would prefer to live in a university residence. Living in an apartment offers many distinct advantages, and privacy is one of them. While a student in a dormitory has little privacy, someone in an apartment enjoys far better privacy and freedom. Learners who live in an independent house can choose a quiet neighbourhood, and this environment is conducive for studying attentively. Furthermore, living in an apartment makes students more independent, and they can choose a better diet. For instance, one of my cousins moved to an apartment after living in a university dormitory for about six months, and he did so because he hated the food offered in his university canteen. Having said that, living in an apartment rather than a university dormitory has some visible disadvantages. First and foremost is the cost. In my country, living in an apartment is quite expensive while the university offers cheap accommodation. The food is also cheaper in the university dining halls. Second, renting an apartment in my city is hard for a student. The landlords prefer families over the students. Furthermore, the daily commuting is convenient from the university halls while not so easy from the apartments away from the university campus. Finally, campus staying students have better interaction with seniors and teachers. In conclusion, even though there are many benefits of living in an apartment than living in a university hall, I would still prefer to live in the university dormitory. The primary reason for me to be able to attend my classes without commuting through bad traffics. I hate to wait in the heavy traffic and as I do not own a car. I would also like to enjoy my university life and stay in touch with my seniors, teachers and classmates whenever possible. University life has so many things to offer, and I do not want to miss them.