Many American believe that the death penalty is effective in deterring people from committing murder. However, others disagree, and many sociologists argue that the evidence does not support this view. What extend with this opinion?

When it comes to the punishment of crime, people believe that it is necessary for authorities to apply capital punishment to govern the countries while others claim that the death penalty is inhumane. My belief is that the death penalty is the most effective punishment in the national legal system to prevent murder for two main reasons, namely deterrence for murder and optimization of national finances. The first reason for making the death penalty outperforms other is its ability to significantly deter murder crime in the future. In fact, the death penalty is more deterrent than others because people fear death more than anything else. If murderers are sentenced to death and executed, potential murderers will think twice before killing for fear of losing their own life. For example, there are many developed countries that maintain the death penalty, leading to a 50% reduction in murder crime rate, including the US, China, Japan, and Singapore, … Another important reason for making the death penalty better than the others is that it saves the nation's budget. Without the death penalty, plenty of countries tend to use life imprisonment or term imprisonment for murder and other serious crimes. In addition to the costs of basic living conditions for prisoners, the government has to incur other costs for providing education and vocational training, holding rehabilitation programs, and supplying security cameras and home surveillance equipment, … These costs burden the nation's finances and can increase citizens' taxes. If the death penalty is applied, the country does not need to spend those expenses and can allocate budgets for more notable issues such as improving poverty or repelling the COVID - 19. In conclusion, although the application of the death penalty is a contentious issue, I still hold the belief that the death penalty is the best way to repel crime in general and murder in particular because of its substantial deterrence against crime and national financial savings.