Some people believe that it is wrong for professional athletes to compete in the Olympics because their strong financial backing and training give them an unfair advantage over the other athletes. To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is an opinion that professional athletes who participate in Olympic games have a biased advantage over other athletes as a result of their financial strength and trainings, therefore, they should not partake in such competitions. I totally concur with this presumption because Olympic gaming events are an opportunity for new athletes to showcase their talents, as well as the occupying of positions meant for upcoming stars. Although a professional sportsperson may bring more entertainment to an Olympic event, more often than not, their accumulation of medals hinders the chances of new talents. Superstars in sports would no doubt dominate in many events they participate in. This dominance may not mean that they are better in comparison to newer athletes. On the contrary, their consistent appearance at previous events gives them more convenience or bravery to surpass new partakers. What is then the impact of this? Many young talents look forward to represent their countries at such games and gain medals in the process. When such ambitions are stalled by professional sports players, then, many upcoming stars may go unnoticed or unannounced to the world early. Kenneth Coleman, one of the fastest runners in Nigeria, for example, was to represent in the 2018 Olympic games. However, he never got his shot at victory, since Usain Bolt used his past knowledge about the games to win ahead of others. Yet another reason for holding the view that professional sports men and women should leave the Olympics for other athletes is that they take up positions reserved for other representatives. Fame and fortune is not restricted to one individual. If one has achieved this fit, it is only wise that they give room for others to taste victory. Many people dream of taking part in relays, swimming or boxing and are told to wait their turn, until a superstar resigns or retires. In the process of waiting, many newcomers loose interest and never achieve their goals. No one ever heard of Jake Smith as he resorted to going to the university and dropped his passion for swimming after being told to hold on for Micheal Phelps to retire. To sum up, it is true that the constant participation of professional athletes at the Olympics is totally wrong. This is simply due to the new talents that would be held back and the halting of the sports dreams of other athletes.