Feedback and evaluation are necessary aspects of school and work, but many people dislike being evaluated. What are the causes of this problem? How could it be solved?

Honestly, it is an instinct for a person to dislike being judged by others. This is because human nature cannot bear criticism and always wants to be praised and complimented. Human judgements negatively affect a person’s sense of freedom and may be seen as harassment to one. People will not accept criticism easily and arguments may arise. The main cause of this problem is that the system of evaluation does not fairly consider many aspects of the person’s characteristics. For example, many companies do not take the person’s private status into their account when giving feedback on his performance at work. Additionally, most students hate their school regularly sending feedback to their parents. Because it is not always going to be in the favour of the student. As a result, parents will have to discipline the student’s behaviour by whatever means necessary, which are not going to be in the student’s favour. This problem could be solved by ensuring the quality and fairness of the system of evaluation before the implementation process takes place. This will assure the person being evaluated that he is assessed fairly and accurately. Furthermore, it will fairly demonstrate the person’s weak points, which he will concentrate upon in order to enhance his overall performance. In conclusion, having an organized system of evaluation within a school or company is a necessity because it is a very useful guide of performance view. Balancing between human needs and the evaluation system will make it more beneficial for both sides to have the desired outcome.