An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Technological advances influence every aspect of our lives. As a consequence, many schools replace textbooks and hard-copy materials with tablets and laptop computers for their students as a new way of innovative learning. However, there are positive and negative effects of using technology in schools as I will explain in this essay. On the one hand, it will be easier for students to study and take lessons through computers. In this sense, they will have a better chance of taking lessons at their comfort. For instance, attending classes online without the need to be present at school. Another advantage is, it will be very effective in preventing all kinds of cheating during exams. Because it will facilitate the process of diversifying the exams between students rather than unifying them which in effect will decrease the chances of cheating. On the other hand, technical issues always present with computer devices. It may badly affect the quality of this new method of learning. For example, the time of system lagging cannot be anticipated and can happen during an examination. Consequently, student's scores may be negatively affected by this and may get them distracted while answering. Another issue is that computers are vulnerable to harmful attacks by hackers who may destroy the whole system and make it ineffective, especially during a lesson or exam. In conclusion, it appears that the trend in education is moving strongly towards the usage of technology in schools. Through computers, students can take exams, assignments, and attend lessons remotely through the Internet. The advantages of using laptops and tablets instead of printed materials and books outweigh the disadvantages and will make the technology succeed in developing the whole system of education.