Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet.

People’s opinions differ as to whether governments or public are responsible for maintaining good health and regulating food qualities. Personally, I believe in the former viewpoint on this matter. Those who argue that it is the sole domain of individuals to maintain health have their reasons. Firstly, people have a choice what to eat. The preference of the meal decides the gain or loss of health, both healthy and unhealthy alternatives are available in the market. For example, at a fast food restaurant, despite the availability of fatty foods like burgers and pizzas, healthy food like salads are also available. Secondly, people can do exercise and make changes in their lifestyles on their own. For example, they can add exercise regimen and can change some habits like making sure to go to bed early at night and less use of electronic devices. However, I side with those who feel that governments are responsible for providing healthy diet. One reason is that they have power to regulate the quality of food by banning the harmful contents. For example, in the last decade the Indian government banned carcinogenic compounds, which resulted in a decrease in the number of cancer patients. Another reason is that governments have funds to provide sustenance items to people who cannot afford. For example, during covid lockdown the Indian government was funding to provide proper meals to poor and labour workers to save their lives. In conclusion, while there are reasons to believe that maintaining health is everybody’s own responsibility. My own view is that governments are more responsible to provide healthy alternatives because they have powers to regulate the quality of food and have funds to provide healthy diet.