Some people believe that it is important to spend a lot of money on family celebrations (e. g. weddings, birthdays). Others say expensive celebrations are a waste of money. Discuss both these views

Family events are spent a great amount of budget by some individuals whereas many other people consider that this costly gatherings are investing money wrongly. I believe that the latter idea is more reasonable according to some measures. Both points and my own view will be discussed below in detail. One of the reasons for spending plenty of money on family celebrations may be extreme desire to show off one's financially good condition. This is because that invited people would be surprised at the luxury facilities provided by high quality restaurants including delicious food, musicians and service. Therefore, that event is remembered by those close relatives and friends for a long time among others, even they could feel envy which may give self-satisfaction to those who organized that party. As a result, they consider that such kind of parties served as a great opportunity to prove everyone how they are making good fortune and have higher living standards than others. On the other hand, the opponents of this idea claim that it is not right to spend a great deal of money just on one party. The reason for this may be that they believe, there are a lot of good deeds which can help people who are in need. For example, in third world countries a lot of people die from famine every day or many patients do need money to be treated. While countless people are living in poor conditions we should not spend a lot of money only on a celebration at one night. So, they may have come to this conclusion and I also support this idea because it is a great way of proving one's kindness and open-mindedness by directing their extra money onto the improvement of others' life standards and assisting suffering people. In conclusion, although some people think that family gatherings should be spent plenty of money to prove their wealthy and luxury lifestyle to the people around them, it is not clever way of spending money and many other individuals strongly reject this idea due to the fact that there are better investments and choices such as helping mankind and community with that amount of money.