Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

People have differing views regarding information that whether this should be shared freely or not. While some people advocate the idea of open access of information, I personally believe that in scientific research, business, and the academic world such sharing is not reasonable for several reasons. Sharing as much information as possible can have a few advantages. In scientific research, giving free access of information to others may result in new inventions which might be boons for humanity. Currently, a contagious disease COVID-19 is annihilating humans worldwide, taking lives of thousands people every day. In such situation, free access of information can be helpful to get a breakthrough to cure the patients. Secondly, it may be good to share valuable information in business as well. Entrepreneurs can help each other to strengthen their country’s economy by sharing ideas and strategies related to production, human resources et cetera. Finally, in the academic world, it has become essential to create efficient workforce in various sectors to increase the productivity. By sharing e-books, journals, and articles, students can be furnished with enough content that it will be easier for them to make themselves proficient. However, I disfavor the idea of sharing the important information freely. In scientific research, scientists can misuse any information and create mammoth problems for the mankind. Aforementioned disease is also the result of such misusing. Additionally, experiments fall under protocols that means scientists cannot do experimentation without permission therefore sharing freely can result in conflicts between countries. In business, companies compete with each other to increase their sales. If same information is shared with all, this will lead to patent or copyright violations. Lastly, in the academic world, plagiarism is a big problem for teachers as mostly students access the information and use that content in their assignments unchanged. Therefore, for teachers it is impossible to trace any information within a large volume of shared content. In conclusion, although some people are in favor of sharing information freely, I find this idea disadvantageous due to aforesaid reasons.