Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

People tend to have different views on whether or not sharing is really caring to freely giving out information on scientific research, business or the academic world. Although they are two sides to a coin, i believe information should be freely given. Many of the developments that have been made upto this point were accomplished by people who too believed that there is no "I" in teamwork and shared their ideas with their colleagues to achieve their goals. For instance, the wright brothers who came up with the aeroplane. Due to their teamwork we are able to easily travel from one end of the world to another within hours. This development has also made e-commerce more efficient and thus businesses in different parts of the world can thrive from aiding each other. Furthermore, through scientific research ideas being shared, these scientists are able to share the glory as well as the money which they would have made when their thesis has been proven. This is the case for nano-technology which has been widely used for lens in glasses. This development has not only improved sight for short sighted people but the scientists who came up with the idea have also benefitted from sales of the glasses they came up with. However, on the other hand some people are selfish and sharing of ideas could lead to the whole idea being stolen if developed and proven. In such a case selling of an idea sounds good as it would hurt less, being paid for all the effort that lead to the idea even if it was only half done. Overally, freely sharing of information has lead to more developments that have benefitted both the inventers as well as the users of the invention and therefore i firmly believe that sharing of information should be free.