Some people believe that it is better for children to learn a foreign language at primary school, rather than at secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Knowing another language aside from your native language can be considered as an asset. Hence, there is an ongoing debate on to which stage is it proper to teach foreign language to young people. Many people believe that it is more beneficial to be knowledgeable at it in earlier years than in later stages. his essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the issue and will provide the possible reason why its benefits are more positive than its drawbacks. Leaning a foreign language at early age comes with many benefits. Primarily, it is during this time when a child is starting to develop their abilities, discovering their interests as well as learning new things. At the young ages, learning language happens naturally. This indicates that, whatever it is being taught to them they can gasp easily, and they can apply it immediately. As a result, a child who learned the language at his younger years can showcase confidence in utilizing this language even at his adulthood. As long as they are taught well enough and appropriately. Moreover, they are those who commit lesser mistakes and can speak it correctly if not fluently as compared to others. Apart from this, they will not feel strange to express themselves in another language because they have developed the sense of being comfortable. This will hugely help any individual especially as they cope up with the competitiveness of the world, such as securing a job in the market in the future. Wherein most of the companies do prefer applicants who are either bilingual or multilingual. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks in teaching young children a different language. Firstly, a child can experience confusion. This is because it is also at their childhood that they are starting to explore their mother tongue as they develop their communication most of the time, they would opt to use what is easier and common for them. Commonly, it is their native language that they use in households and at their neighborhoods. While foreign language is only for school. This is the reason why most of teachers would always recommend talking to the child in the universal language, but this is not always convenient for some. Also, they would encounter difficulties such as stuttering, hesitation to express themselves or can be shy because they might not know how to translate their thoughts. Especially if their environment is not using the language at all. Secondly, essential subjects such as Math, Science and History are being introduced them which is normally written in a foreign language such as English. Therefore, the need to use the native language becomes essential as it must be used for the child to fully understand the lessons. If teachers would stick on using the foreign language as a sole medium of teaching the children might have a hard time to cope up or understand their lessons. Unlike when it is taught in secondary school, teenagers learn with consciousness thus making them use the language appropriately and are aware of the essence of their language and the meaning of what they express. Despite of the certain disadvantages above, this can certainly be addressed by simply ensuring that the curriculum used in the academe is appropriate and fits the needs of the student. Teachers must be well equipped and competent enough in teaching the right and correct use of a certain foreign language especially at younger stages, since this is when the foundation of a child develops. This can be the reason somehow, on why some secondary school children who have not mastered the language when they were young encounter difficulties in using it. Lastly, authorities must be accurate in assessing the child’s level and factors that surrounds the child in order to develop themselves and become a knowledgeable individuals in the future. In conclusion, it is better to learn a foreign language at primary years, as this would prepare children in the long run and as they venture to the real world outside the academe.