"Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations.

In life, nothing ever happens exactly how we envision it. From time to time, we are faced with an unpleasant situation, wondering to ourselves, “should I attempt to better my surroundings or settle for what they are? ”. To this question, some people would agree with the latter whilst others, as myself, would defend the former. In spite of believing in always improving our current condition as people, I do understand voices that prefer to not stir the waters and venture into the unknown. If we encounter ourselves in a situation that is not ideal, we can inadvertently worsen it. For instance, if a person is short on money and attempts to earn more by betting on a horse race and comes last, he will not only have lost his money but may become in debt as well. At that time, imagining scenarios such as “If I had not bet my savings, I would still have them” would be futile as well as in vain. Nonetheless, considering an alternative perspective, I concur that it is imperative to thrive for more. Bumps on the road will surely appear nevertheless, persistence is key. For this reason, I am a firm believer that the more you risk, the more you can accomplish. I draw this reasoning from a friend’s real-life example. She has worked at a firm for approximately three years. During the first two, she perceived her earnings did not mirror her efforts. In that, when the time came to discuss further employment, she presented her superiors an ultimatum, either they would increase her salary, or she would take another position elsewhere. She endangered her job nevertheless; it was worthwhile as they agreed to her proposition. Through understanding her worth and speaking for herself, my friend ended up with a better deal. Had she not, she could still be in a lower-paying position. To conclude, despite understanding the comfortable argument of contenting oneself with nefarious circumstances, I am of the opinion that accomplishing always more ought to be the more beneficial approach, perils included. Life is a race, and we can run it in a steady-pace and reach second place or aim for a final sprint and go for number one.