In many Countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of Crime? How can we deal with those causes?

Criminals are a threat to our society and it is a matter of concern that the crime rate has increased dramatically in many countries. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons behind this and propose solutions to combat the problem. First of all, the main reason behind the surge in crime is poverty as most of the people in developing countries are daily wagers, and they have to struggle everyday for their bread. Therefore, out of hunger, some people start committing petty thefts at shops and cars, and over time some of them become gangsters. A study conducted by a University in Denmark revealed that the children growing up in poverty are seven times more likely to be involved in violent crimes when they become young adults. Another cause is the over-ambitious nature of some individuals. These individuals keep an eye on others’ wealth, and sometimes they become so desperate that they start blackmailing rich people, and even kidnap their closed ones for ransom. To tackle this problem, the first and foremost step is to enforce law and order. In other words, the government should impose strict rules and regulations by recruiting incorruptible law enforcement authorities especially in criminal zones to turn them into safer region. For example, the US has a crime-rate of only 2% as compared to Somalia, whose crime-rate is 50% due to strict implementation of rules by the former. Secondly, the authorities should expand employment opportunities for the poor so that every individual could at least earn their living and live their life in a better way. Consequently, the poor would not be compelled to do misdeeds to fulfill their basic necessities. In conclusion, although the problem of crime is not insurmountable, I believe that it is the government’s responsibility to solve these issues, and they should begin by considering some of the solutions proposed above.