Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Knowledge increases when it is shared and hence some people believe that scientific, technical and business information should be shared freely; however, others opine that it is better to keep some information confidential. In my opinion, both approaches have their advantages and disadvantages. We live in an age where new inventions happen almost every single day. Sharing this information is important because it helps to keep us updated with the inventions happening around us. Also, these researches can be used to develop technologies that can be used by people to ease their lives and for the betterment of the society. For instance, the invention of stem cells therapy pushed the boundaries of medical science. By using stem cells in laboratories we can create any organ we want! This regeneration helps us to avoid the danger of donor organ rejection. Sharing such useful inventions helps the students to be up to date with the recent procedures and thus become much better professionals. On the other hand, sharing too much information can be dangerous. For example, research related to weapons and nuclear science is extremely sensitive and confidential. If it is fallen into wrong hands it can lead to wars and terrorist activity. Likewise, some information regarding business finances and the algorithm is kept confidential by companies to stay ahead of the competition. Sharing this information may incur major financial loss for the company and loss of its USP / competitive edge. To conclude, my opinion is a neutral one. It is extremely important for the world to share knowledge regarding science and business but it is equally crucial to safeguard the information that is sensitive to companies and the country.