Some people believe that internet addiction should be treated as a severe illness while others think that this phenomenon should be a normal situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People have different views about addictions to the Internet. From my perspective, they should be regarded as a dangerous habit even though some think that it is a common circumstance. On the one hand, the Internet plays a crucial role in the development of society, so spending too much time online seems to be a normal activity. People can access online sources for many purposes such as studying, working, entertaining. The Internet provides up with a variety of resources to develop ideas in different fields and stay updated with the latest news. Take students as a example, they can understand lessons and finish their tasks perfectly without spending precious time at the library. That is why people depend on online environment all the time. On the other hand, people consider the Internet addiction to be a severe illness due to the negative consequences it brings. The main disadvantage is that when people depend too much on the Internet, they will immerse themselves in virtual world and are more likely to neglect reality. This is often seen in online communication tools, where people can build more virtual relationships, but may lack interactions with their families and friends. This tendency can be lead to their isolation and adverse effects on their relationships. Secondly, people can suffer some serious problems related to mental health such as headaches, memory loss, and vision problems. Moreover, children can imitate their parents if they overuse phones and the Internet. As a result, it can be seen that addiction causes some detrimental effects to people ‘s lives at the present and in the future. In conclusion, although both views certainly have reasonable justifications, it seems to me that it is better to spend less time using the Internet to avoid undesirable effects and harms to our health.