Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense.

Global sporting events like the Olympics and FIFA world cup have played a major role in bringing nations closer. Few people believe that these sporting events, provide a platform where nations can exhibit their traits. However, others believe that huge money spent for hosting these events is indefensible and I fully disagree with this argument. This essay will present some arguments in favour of hosting international sporting events. Hosting global athletic events help countrymen to showcase their traditional and cultural values and reveal their hospitality standards. For instance, recent Olympics in London helped foreigners learn the craftsmanship, rich culture, artefacts, architectures, lifestyle, etiquettes and charitable acts of British people. Moreover, investments have done over constructing or upgrading the infrastructure of the sporting arena, exhibit how skilled the nation is. During the actual competition, it displays their governance, technological skills, team management and communication skills which can be very inspiring for the visitors. For instance, FIFA World Cup in Brazil spread the message how well the nation is in building complex infrastructure that can accommodate hundred and thousands of spectators. Furthermore, another plausible counter in favour of hosting sporting events is the exhibition of moral and ethical values of countrymen. Professional attitude, skills and teamwork displayed by young athletes of the host nation shows how good their sporting academies are at gross root level. To conclude, re-recreational events provide a launch pad where a nation can show the failure of its skills and standards. Spectators flocking all over the world can be inspired by these qualities and can even exercise them in their homeland.