Some people believe that industrial growth would alleviate poverty. Some other think industries are a threat to the environment.

Industrial growth is one of the main aspects of development of a country. Some people are with a view that it plays a pivotal role in poverty eradication while some others believe that the growth of industries are adversely affecting the environment. This essay will discuss why industrial growth should be restricted as its negative effects on environment outweigh the benefits. Poverty is one of the most serious problems faced by many of the developing countries in today's world. Those countries find the introduction of industries as a solution as it would generate more employment which in turn eradicate Poverty. For example, the introduction of leather factory units in rural areas around India resulted in a significant decline in Poverty level of families around the factory. The reason being every adult member in a family got employed in the factory and thus earn for their livelihood. On the other hand, the environmental problems created by factories are several. The emissions and discharges from factories will eventually lead to air and water pollution. For instance, the chemical waste from a titanium sponge factory in Kerala polluted all the water bodies surrounding the company. This includes wells and rivers, thus creating severe water shortage. Secondly the gas emissions from the industries lead to diseases to the residents near by. There is a famous example of gas tragedy in Bhopal, India and the effects still exists as children are born with diseases even now. These are the most important adverse effects of factories on environment. Growth of industries are needed for development but if allowed to grow without considering the environment will create significant negative impacts. This essay discussed the role of industries in reducing poverty and the negative impacts its creates on the ecosystem. Im my opinion, the industries are great a threat to environment than the so called good effects such as poverty eradication.