chanlleges causes many problems

Globally, with the development of society and economy, many civilizations have become more powerful and complex. However, there are some social and environmental issues that have been more prominent, for example climate change, aging population and others. To solve these problems, many communities put forward the concept of sustainable consumption. Nevertheless, some obstacles to this idea are still apparent. If these obstacles cannot be resolved, sustainable consumption will not be implemented and the complex issues will not be solved. Consequently, humanity will face many catastrophes and even social collapse. Therefore, it is necessary to identify and solve the obstacles. The challenges can be divided into two types, which are two internal and two external ones. Internal resource problem is one of the main internal challenges for community-based sustainable consumption. According to Middlemiss (2018), one of the most significant aspects of sustainable community consumption in the initial stage is the initiation of resources. The resources include not only finance but also most female and middle-class manpower, which are skilled in interpersonal skills (Middlemiss, 2018). Apart from the initial resources, Seyfang and Longhurst (2013, as cited in Feola & Nunes, 2013) highlight that the community projects rely on the resources that are volunteers and low level of financial resources, which limit their development and ability to a large extent.   This is because of the lack of innovation and learning ability. Another internal challenge is explained as the thoughts of members. Such as in the work of Creamer (2014, as cited in Middlemiss, 2018), he mentions that when the resource is abundant, it is likely for these groups to create problems of changing agendas to meet the demand of members to impair the original goal.   With attention of some members to their requirements, the focus of these projects has been deflected and impeded. Furthermore, Smith (2011, as cited in Feola & Nunes, 2013) indicates that due to the ideological disputes, there are some internal conflicts and even barriers to the development of community-based initiative. As a result of conflicts, communities will not unite and divide, and the projects will eventually fail. In addition to the internal challenges, the external one cannot be neglected. A very significant external challenge comes from the environment, including ecological and political environment. On the one hand, Feola & Nunes (2013) point out that the members of these projects pay more attention to internal factors but ignore the external ones, which are connected with the lack of awareness of the environment and skills to engage it. One the other hand, Clark and Legrand (2018) explain the challenges from another dimension. The government should take into account the attitude and behaviors of the public, while pursuing economic growth. This means that without public support, the government cannot publish policies successfully and community-based sustainable consumption initiatives will also fail. Apart from these challenges, the allocation of resources between communities is also an important factor. Middlemiss refers to this point that inequality of distribution among communities and the magnitude of the problem can be another impediment. To face different problems, communities need different amounts of resources. Under this circumstance, the problem of unequal distribution becomes particularly obvious and impedes the progress of projects. In conclusion, there are still many challenges and problems in community-based sustainable consumption initiatives. While the internal and external challenges are apparent and hard to solve, they have to be addressed in order to promote community-based sustainable consumption initiatives and resolve some global problems. Ultimately, it will take community and government efforts to overcome these challenges.