Some people believe that governments should spend money on the military to prepare for future conflicts, whereas others believe this money should be spent to improve society.

Should governments spend their fundings on the military to ensure the safety of their nation, or should this fundings be used to improve social welfare? In this argument, I thoroughly disagree as I believe that in a modern society, we humans as a specie should be improving the lives of others and not be in conflict with one another. I took this stance as I believe that peace is always an option; meaning that military spendings is not necessary. First and foremost, increased spendings in the military would affect other aspects of a nation. For instance, because the total fundings the government has is limited; other important element: such as education and healthcare will be affected as their funding will be reduced. Consequently, this will cause a loss in opportunity for potential individuals who might receive education and greatly contribute to the socioeconomic of their country. Furthermore, these reductions in society improvement fundings pose the threat of increased poverty in the country. Then again, these people in poverty are a lost opportunity which could be generating income thus adding to the GDP of the nation. Secondly, in the modern world, conflict which leads to use of military force is quite rare. This implies that: the financing that has been put into the military is not used. Therefore, all the taxes and fundings are wasted and contribute no value to society. In addition, as a human, loss of lives causes grives and suffering for individuals. Not only physical injuries but also mental illness. On the other hand, some may argue that military spendings should not be neglected as in some nations there are still active conflicts, which military is required for national security. To conclude, increased military fundings would negatively affect the well being of citizens and cause a lost opportunity in which a nation could profit economically. Besides, armed conflict in the modern world is very infrequent.